CarCostCheck
Buying Advice

Cheapest Cat N Check UK 2026: Every Major Option Compared

Want to check if a UK car is a Cat N write-off? Cat N records sit on MIAFTR, the insurance industry's register, which free government lookups do not show. CarCostCheck's £4.99 check covers Cat N plus stolen and finance. The main providers compared.

CC
CarCostCheck
6 min read

The main UK Cat N check providers compared

How CarCostCheck compares with the main UK car checks, the others sorted by price. Prices checked on each provider's own site on 8 October 2026.
ProviderPriceCat N + Cat SLegacy Cat C + DOther checks included
CarCostCheck£4.99✓✓Stolen, finance, VIN, keepers, MOT, mileage, reliability
Free DVLA and MOT lookupsFree✗✗Tax and MOT data only
DealerPricing History Check£3.99✓Not statedStolen, finance, keepers, plate and colour changes, MOT history, mileage
Total Car Check (Silver)£3.99✓Not statedStolen; no finance (Gold, with finance, is £9.99)
MyCarCheck (Basic)£4.99✓✓Stolen, plate transfers; no finance (Comprehensive, with finance, is £8.49)
AA Car Check£14.99✓✓Stolen, finance (+ £30k guarantee)
RAC Vehicle History Check (Full)£14.99✓✓Finance details, mileage, MOT history, running costs (+ £30k guarantee)
HPI Check£19.99✓✓Stolen, finance, write-off (+ £30k guarantee + auto-enrol £39/yr subscription)
CarVertical£39.99✓✓UK + EU history, market price

Check Any Car Free, Instantly

Full MOT history, mileage check, health score, running costs. No signup needed.

GB

Free instant check using official DVSA and DVLA data

Quick answer: CarCostCheck premium costs £4.99, with stolen and outstanding finance checks included. It returns Cat A, B, S, N markers (plus legacy Cat C and Cat D) from MIAFTR via Experian, the same insurance industry database HPI charges £19.99 for. A few checks cost less, and some of them leave out finance. Free government lookups do not show write-off markers, because MIAFTR is not public.

Same data as HPI, £4.99 instead of £19.99

Outstanding finance, stolen, write-off (Cat A/B/S/N + legacy C/D), VIN, plate transfers, previous keepers with the date of each recorded change. Sourced via Experian from MIAFTR, CUE and the finance industry register, same as HPI's. Plus full MOT history, mileage check and reliability score, free.

Check a Car Free

Why CarCostCheck is the best-value option for most buyers

Cat N markers come from MIAFTR, the insurance industry's write-off register, so a £4.99 CarCostCheck report draws write-offs from the same register as the dearer checks in the table. The price differences come from brand premium and bundled extras (HPI's £30k guarantee, CarVertical's EU history). For most UK private buyers, CarCostCheck's write-off, stolen and finance checks for £4.99, with free MOT history and running costs, are the best-value choice.

Run the £4.99 check now

Your report on screen in seconds, plus a link to keep and share. One-off payment, no subscription.

Enter a Reg Plate

Find your car's true running costs

Enter any reg below for a free MOT history, mileage check, and running costs. Takes 5 seconds, no signup.

GB

Free instant check using official DVSA and DVLA data

Data from DVSA and DVLA. Used by thousands of UK car buyers.

Why "free Cat N checks" rarely include write-off data

MIAFTR is not public, and checks that include it cost money to run. Free government data from the DVLA and DVSA does not include write-off markers. If a site advertises a free Cat N check, read what it actually shows: it may be DVLA tax and MOT data, which does not include write-off status, followed by an offer of a paid check.

What you actually get for the £4.99

The CarCostCheck premium report includes:

  • Cat A, B, S, N markers (plus legacy Cat C and Cat D), with the date, insurer and damage
  • Outstanding finance, with the lender, agreement type, start date and term
  • Stolen status (Police National Computer)
  • VIN check
  • Plate transfer history
  • Colour change history
  • Number of keepers, with the date of each recorded keeper change
  • Import and export markers
  • Scrapped status
  • Plus the full free report: DVSA MOT history since 2005, mileage verification with clocking detection, reliability score 0-100, annual running cost estimate, common faults, recalls, ULEZ compliance

That covers the core history checks, plus a free reliability score and running-cost estimate.

How long does a Cat N marker stay on the record?

Forever. Once a vehicle is recorded on MIAFTR, the marker is permanent. Cat C was replaced by Cat S in October 2017 and Cat D by Cat N, but cars written off before that date still carry their original Cat C or Cat D marker for the rest of the vehicle's life. The CarCostCheck report shows whichever marker is on file.

Ready to check a car?

12 checks free. Stolen, finance, write-off, VIN, keepers and more for £4.99. Same Experian data as HPI charges £19.99 for, no subscription.

Check a Car Now

Related reading: Cheapest HPI Check UK 2026 | Cat N + Cat S FAQ | What is a Cat N Write-Off? | What is a Cat S Write-Off? | Cheapest Write-Off Check UK

Frequently Asked Questions

What's the cheapest Cat N check?

A few checks cost less: DealerPricing's £3.99 History Check includes finance, and Total Car Check's £3.99 Silver check leaves finance out. CarCostCheck's £4.99 check returns Cat A, B, S and N markers plus legacy Cat C and D from MIAFTR (the insurance industry's write-off register) via Experian, together with stolen and outstanding finance checks. HPI charges £19.99 for the same MIAFTR data; AA and RAC charge £14.99-£9.99.

Can I check Cat N status for free?

Not from free government services. Write-off markers are held on MIAFTR, which is not public, and the DVLA's free vehicle enquiry does not show them. If a site offers a 'free Cat N check', read what it includes: it may show DVLA data only and then offer a paid check.

Is the £4.99 Cat N data the same as HPI's £19.99 data?

Yes. Both use write-off records from MIAFTR, the insurance industry's register. Same register, different price.

Does the £4.99 check show legacy Cat C and Cat D?

Yes. The marker is permanent. Cat C was replaced by Cat S in October 2017 and Cat D by Cat N, but cars written off before then keep their original marker. CarCostCheck shows whichever marker is on file.

Find your car's true running costs

Enter any reg plate for a free MOT history, mileage check, health score, and running costs. No signup needed.

GB

Free instant check using official DVSA and DVLA data

Used by thousands of UK car buyers. Data from DVSA and DVLA.

Example report preview

2019 Ford Fiesta

1.0 EcoBoost, Petrol, Manual

82

Grade B

£1,860

per year

Pass

MOT status

42k

Mileage

Fuel£1,180Tax£200MOT£55Repairs£425

This is what you'll see. Try it with YOUR car:

GB

Free instant check using official DVSA and DVLA data

More from the Blog

Ready to Check a Car?

12 free checks included. Premium history from £4.99. Valuation from £2.99.

GB

Free instant check using official DVSA and DVLA data